Travel Videos‎ > ‎

Historic Centre of Macao

Old Macau in 1960 澳门

The Macau Special Administrative Region, (simplified Chinese: 澳门特别行政区; traditional Chinese: 澳門特別行政區, Cantonese Yale: O Mun Dak Bit Hang Jeng Kui), commonly known as Macau or Macao (pronounced /məˈkaʊ/, traditional Chinese: 澳門; simplified Chinese: 澳门; pinyin: Aòmén; Jyutping: ou3 mun4), is one of the two special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China, the other being Hong Kong. Macau lies on the western side of the Pearl River Delta, bordering Guangdong province in the north and facing the South China Sea in the east and south. The territory has thriving industries such as textiles, electronics and toys, and a notable tourist industry. This makes it one of the richest cities in the world.

Macau was both the first and last European colony in China. Portuguese traders first settled in Macau in the 16th century and subsequently administered the region until the handover on December 20, 1999. The Sino-Portuguese Joint Declaration and the Basic Law of Macau stipulate that Macau operates with a high degree of autonomy until at least 2049, fifty years after the transfer. Under the policy of "one country, two systems", the Central People's Government is responsible for the territory's defense and foreign affairs, while Macau maintains its own legal system, police force, monetary system, customs policy, immigration policy, and delegates to international organisations and events.

Learn more about Macao here and here...

Visiting Macau in 1950 澳门


蘇師傅 (澳門街頭美食之旅) Macau Street Snack

Macau Casino Strip

Macau - To hear, to feel, to touch, to see

蘇師傅帶你吃澳門晨早豬什粥 (Macau Breakfast)